flagsonline.net Flag of South Africa

Colours: Black, Yellow, Red, White, Green and Blue.
Proportions: Width to Length = 1:2

State Flag of the Republic of South Africa (1994)

After a long period of political reform, the racially discriminatory apartheid regime of South Africa ended with the country’s first multi-racial elections and the inauguration of Nelson Mandela as President in April 1994. 

To coincide with the dawn of a new democratic South Africa and to reflect the country’s political transformation, a new national flag was adopted on the 27th of April 1994. 

The current flag design dates from December 1996.

A former State Herald of South Africa, Frederick G. Brownell, designed the flag. 

The Symbolic Meaning

The colours have no specific symbolism attributed to them; however, the flag does incorporate the colours of Nelson Mandela’s political party, the African National Congress (black, green, yellow) and the former Boer republics flags (red, white, blue). 

The Y shape symbolises the convergence of South Africa’s diverse society and the desire for it to head forward together in unity. 

Home . Flags of the World . Flags of General Interest . Buy this Flag
©Copyright 1999 Flags 2000 Pty Ltd. All rights reserved.